Meet Raven

Book 3 is all about the girls, so I’ve naturally been thinking a lot lately about what it means to be a strong woman.  I’d like to introduce you over the next three weeks to a few of the strong women in my books:  Raven, Phoebe, and Lilybet.

Today let’s fly with Raven.

Meet Raven

Raven surprised me.  She was a minor character I introduced in my first book, and I intended to only use her as a flat character who would step in the scenes I needed her in and then vanish in the dark lands where lost socks and soon forgotten characters reside.

I made her soon after I made the Bronze Eagles in my books.  I knew there would be other species of magical birds in the U.S., and I wanted to show a tiny glimpse of this in the first book.

She was quiet.  Did her job and didn’t give me any sass.  But she didn’t leave.  She stood there, staring me down.  “I have a story, too.”  She seemed to whisper to me across the room as I wrote new scenes.  “There is so much more to me.”

My mind was tickled by the possibilities she presented.  I closed my eyes, sent out all of the other characters, and listened to the whispers that flowed between us.

I tweaked her role just a bit in the first book.

I gave her part of the Prologue and Epilogue in the second book.

And now, in the third, she got the Prologue and some chapters within the book.

Raven is intriguing because she’s on the bad side.  She actually doesn’t like some of the people on the bad side, but it’s not like she’s this sweet person, either.  She’s a survivor, I suppose.  She’s going to use what she has to get by, and she has no problem using the perks of the bad side for her own gain.

No, really.  I mean, she got away with using me, didn’t she?

I love her because she has this confidence no matter how hard things get, and she’s no fool.  She’s realistic and steady and just, Raven.

I don’t know where Raven’s story ends.  She’s not a loud, demanding cast member.  She just is, and she’s okay with telling you what she is and that there’s more to say.  So I suppose she may slip out someday.  Give me a quiet wave and a nod and head out the door on her own terms.

I will miss her if she does that, but I’m glad to get to write down her story while she stays.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

