I was tagged to do the Confessions of a Writer Tag
by K. M. Guerin (her awesome answers are here).

When did you first start writing?  Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?
I first started writing when a cranky old lady in a skirt who occupied a room in a brick building I was forced to attend told me to.

Oh, wait…I’ve been told by my husband that I answered that incorrectly.
Less sarcasm, Aems.  Okay, try again!

I first started writing in grade school.  I adored it.  In my life plan, I had secured a spot for author after the kids had grown up and left the house.  As it turned out, that goal shifted forward by nearly 20 years.  Go plans.

What genre do you write?
You know, I’m not a genre person.  I do write Fantasy, and by that I mean my main series of  books are Fantasy/Historical/Romance/SciFi/blibbity blobbity blue.  So far I have dabbled in non-fiction, and this summer I plan on a children’s book.  I just do.  It’s my thing.

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
    This year I started writing Opalescent Immersion, the 4th book in my Endeavor Series.  Mermaids, people, mermaids. Splish, splash.

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
     I did co author a partial book in high school with a mermaid.  I’m about to dedicate this next book to her, because why wouldn’t I dedicate a mermaid book to a mermaid friend?  It was a fun book, with (am I allowed to say, Alana?) each of us writing about a different couple.  There was a ship and an island and two cultures.  It was awesome.

What’s the best part about writing?
     Writing the story -I- want to read.  You know, if the characters approve.

What’s the worst part about writing?
     There’s bad stuff about writing?  You mean when my characters fight too much and I have to chill them out?  Or how I have to wait to find out how something is going to end?  Or when they don’t like a decision I made?  (Just kidding, I don’t get to make decisions.)

What’s the name of your favourite character and why?
    I love them all.  Seriously.  But more specifically (and just about a few)…
I love Charlotte because she feels and she loves and she’s not afraid to fight for what’s right.  I love Beau because he knows who Charlotte is and holds her to that.  He stands by her side.  And he has nice hands.  And wings.  And muscles.  Wait, sorry, fangirled on you.  Let me wipe that up….
I love David because he’s David.  He takes care of kids like a boss and he meshes magic and technology and he’s just David!  And…and…and…I love them all so much.  Even the ones you don’t see much.  I’m having to literally force myself to stop right now because it would take me weeks to tell you how much I love every single one.   And also… I love Vincent because he’s human.  He challenges Charlotte to be more, and I think we all need somebody who does that.

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
    I have four children to homeschool and parent, so I write whenever I can, however I can.  I just do.  Seriously.

Did you go to college for writing?
Oops, was I supposed to do that?  I did double major in Early Childhood Education and Elementary Education and I did have a love affair with the English Department (as in I worked in the writing lab and adored it).  I want to take artsy classes someday, but for now:  I just do.

What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors or grammar errors?
     I notice all, but I’ve trained myself to mostly not care.  I’d rather be kind than correct, and let’s be honest, my blog is never error free.  It’s called priorities.  Love comes first.

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
  Wait, was somebody supposed to do that?

What advice would you give to another writer?
   Le sigh.  I don’t like the advice thing in general.  I enjoy variety in literature.  Go forth and make some good stuff.

What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
   I have found Instagram to be the best place so far, but I’m also very introverted.  I crave authenticity and loyalty, and that’s hard to find.  So I’m not so much into “finding a blog” for encouragement as I am into  “finding a person”.  I do hope to find a little pack of writers to run with, but packs take time to build.

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
     I like to take walks and baths and read books and cook food.  I love being  creative.  I love to sing and dance and paint and the list goes on.  I do it all poorly, but I enjoy it!

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
     I read Tower of Thorns by Juliet Marillier just the other day.  Love.  Her characters feel (they don’t go as overboard as mine do…haha) and struggle and I LOVE it and I love the fairy tale elements.  I could go on forever about her books…  Sorry, fangirled on an author…let me just wipe up the new spot of drool…

What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?
     Oooh, I have trouble sitting still long enough to watch a movie, but I did watch Anna Karenina this year.  It was pretty good, but I could never figure out why they kept switching away from Levin to that Anna girl.  My word.  Focus, people, focus.  My catch phrase shall forever be, “Thresh some wheat for me, Levin, baby.”

What is your favourite book or series of all time?
     What’s with all the favorites?  I don’t do favorites.  I love books.  Big ‘ens, Lil’ ‘ens, all ya’ll books.  Love.  But if you need a little bit more, I love women who write fantasy books and I love their books.  Juliet Marillier is new found love.  Robin McKinley and Tamora Pierce and old loves.  Wait, I think I’m answering the next one…

Who is your favourite author?
     Again with the favorites.  Okay, here’s the deal:  I adore Tolstoy and Proust gets me hot  (no, seriously, have you read his sentences?  *fans self*).  I love Tolkien and C.S. Lewis and the list goes on and on and on.  Right, I know.  I’m a fangirl of dead people.  But you know, we all have issues.  Mine are just dead or fictional…Right, moving along…

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
Finish Opalescent Immersion.  Write a children’s book about a dragon this summer.  Start book 5 of my series.  Then there’s this poetry book I’m starting on, and eventually one about being a mother.  (I wrote this horrid, short ebook about big boobs in Dec of last year.  I must continue the bad legacy and write another.)  So really, my plans are to keep plugging along.

Where else can we find you online?
I am always happy to connect!

Facebook: Endeavor Book Series (page), or as Amy Elizabeth Miller
Twitter:  AEM@magicalworldweb
Instagram @magical_world_web
Linked In:  AEM
Tumblr:  magicalworldweb
Pinterest:  AEM .
Youtube:  COMING SOON!!!

(What’s with all the magical world web, you ask?  Remember David?  There’s a web for magic users, of course!)

Who do I tag?

Sorry, to introvert on you, but the only person I would think to tag, tagged me.  But…if you are out there, and you need a tag, then go forth and do this!  Feel free to use me as a reason/an excuse/a fire under your feet.  Poke me and I’ll come read yours!

Thanks for reading, and have a magical week!

Write Honestly
Dream Bravely
-Aems

Ooh, I just wrote about him last week!  Yay!  I love him.
See?  I even love all the creatures.

Manatopus

