What Really Happens Under the Sea

I am working my way through Opalescent Immersion one last time before in releases in early March.  It’s been about a month or so since I’ve read over my latest draft, so my mind is fresh and the edits are going great.  I have been looking forward to writing this book since I decided that one of my books would be based underwater, and I find myself not wanting to let go.  I guess I want to make sure that my world building will be good, and a part of me knows that if I don’t keep myself in check, then I would keep this book in rewrites for all of eternity.

Cut the cord, Aems.  Cut the cord.

clown-fish

Writing a book set in an underwater world has been the hardest thing I have done as an author.  My brain seriously hurt at the end of a writing session.  Not only was creating a culture like I was in my other books, but I was doing it in a totally unfamiliar way.  Everything I wrote about in book 4 had to be carefully thought about.  How does cooking underwater work?  Transportation?  Recreation?  What do they make their buildings out of?  What effects does swimming and portal taking and different pressures in the water cause?  How would a brand new mermaid adjust?

It was different than the dwarves or the birds.  There’s way more literature on mermaids, and I had already popped off in PI and talked about Triton, so he was firmly in book 4 whether I liked it or not.  (And then I had to explain the entirety of his family tree.  Which I totally enjoyed.)  I felt a pressure to make sure that I really worked in the old and the new for the merfolk.

And then there was that whole period of time that I got ornery and wrote stuff out of pure enjoyment.  I may have actually cackled.

The underwater world in my books is dangerous.  I hope to, like the birds, share other stories about the merpeople later in a side book.  For now you have darker days, but you will still see the love and courage and what they are fighting for.   Here are a couple of small bits from the end of OI.

#1  There’s a lot of insults flying around in this book.  Here’s the longest exchange. 

“Do it now. You are one of us for the moment, and that means you take care of your own.”

“They have collected bodies in other rooms, too.” She said. “Are we to burn them all?”

“If there’s anything we can do to slow or harm the enemy, then we do it.” He said with an annoyed sigh. “Don’t be such a baby, lightening bug.”

“I won’t see them turned into weapons, tadpole.” Charlotte hissed. “Now shut it so I can work.”

“That’s not even the right insult.”

“Shark bait.”

“Twinkle tears.”

“Tale sweeper.”

“Wand flipper.”

Charlotte scrunched up her face. “Shut it, starfish.”

The boy laughed, then coughed. “That wasn’t a bad word until today.”

#2  And then there’s this tidbit.  

They gathered at the end of the large pier, awaiting the man with the shoes.
“I want something.” He smiled down at them.
“A mermaid who doesn’t belong.”
They hissed to him in their language.
“I want her to be weak and without hope by the time she reaches me.”
They hissed their agreement and dove down into the rich, warm waters.

So what really happens under the sea?  On March 8th you can find out.  Almost there!

Live Bravely
Love Strongly
Swim.  Do not look back.  Do not rest.  Swim.
-AEM

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

