The Girl Who Wrote Books

I’m sitting here thinking about my book release this week, and I’m overwhelmed with happiness. I’m actually in bed today, nursing a minor workout injury that I (as usual) kept working out with. Two kids are sick. I’m exhausted. I have something I want to try this week that is dorky and fun, but I have no idea if it will be pass or fail for my readers.

Previously, I had been putting off the social media part of my business, taking only tiny steps over the last few years.  This year I went crazy and really grew at a writer and a person.  It has paid off in so many ways, even though I still failed to get reviews in time for the release of this next book.  But friends, I don’t give a damn.  The lessons I learned this year were beyond helpful, and I will continue to work on my dream.

Today I am happy. This week I am giving birth to book baby #6 this week, the 4th book of my Endeavor Series.  6 books, with 2 more in the works right now.  It’s crazy.  I should have given up by now.  Life has given me many reasons to do so.

You know, my husband and I took the kids to watch Sing on Friday night.  I was expecting a movie for my kids.  My 5 year old got bored.  I cried.

Sing hit me on two different levels.  (at the very least)  Mama Pig?  Who works so hard, and yet feels invisible?  I know that feeling.

And having dreams dashed again and again?  I’ve got that down.

Rock bottom, often times, has a basement.  Plus subfloors.  But if you truly want to write, you will learn to do it in the dark.

rockbottom

So pass the glow in the dark ink, my friends.  Tonight we write.  Tonight we plan.  Tonight we dream.

I am the girl who writes books, and I am far from done.

2 thoughts on “The Girl Who Wrote Books

  1. I relate to this on so many levels, especially the subfloor one! And not to forget the trap door on the subfloor that leads to the myriad of subterranean tunnels crisscrossing their way below the surface and deep into the middle of the Earth. How many times have I found myself there? How many times have I tried desperately to draw in a breath of air while fighting my way back to the top? Being a writer means you have to be tough in a way that other people will never understand… I don’t know how you do it with two kids! I am so happy for you that you’re living the dream and have already published a few books! I can’t wait to claw myself up to your position : ) Never give up, Never surrender…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! Sometimes people don’t get that there are times in life where you have to claw your way up to rock bottom. Thanks for your words. I’m rooting for you!

      Like

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

