A Dream of Mine

Usually when I talk about dreams on this blog, I talk about the dreams of the future and what I’d like to be in it one way or the other.

Today I want to share a dream I woke up from 15 mins ago, which means this might end up being a double post day.  I’m not going to apologize for that like I usually do, because I’m working very hard this year on not apologizing for who I am.  Sorry about that.  LOL.

Anyway, I’m tired this morning, and not just because it’s day two of a migraine.  I am tired because I spent the last bit of my night dreaming.  So here goes:

I was a man.  One of those awkward, suited, thin men.  I reported to a local library one evening to take a test.  I wanted to be a librarian, you see.  A lady librarian, in an old time dress to match my own wardrobe, handed me this booklet and took me on a short trip.  The library was a bit small, but the town was small.  We drove through that town of dirt streaked people, and ended up in the corner of an empty building where I would have peace and quiet to read the book.

So I sat down and realized that I was not prepared for the test.  I had taken no library classes, and had no degrees.  Ooopsie  Daisy.

I started taking the test, but the dusty, dark room just wasn’t doing it for me, I guess.  I wandered over to the bright, busy, cheerful, loud library, sat down on the floor, and opened the book.

I was surrounded by children peering over my shoulder.

I began to take the test.  The librarian would come check on me now and then.  Kids would come to me for help with something.  And so I sat, taking the test now and then and helping somebody now and then.

The night went on.  Somebody to my left was telling some of the kids that I would be part of a new library.  One where you could read all the books, not just the approved ones.  A library that would allow everybody, not just certain members of the town.

I wanted that library, too.  But as I took the test, I got worried.  The booklet kept getting larger and longer and harder as I wrote.

“I don’t think the test is wholly about the test.”  I confided to the librarian.

Night wore on.  I started to get worried.  I had to go back and fix some of my answers, and then I started editing the test in certain parts.  I hoped silently that the test was about me balancing the test taking and the helping, but I wasn’t so sure.  Maybe I should have tossed the test and helped more.  Maybe I should have stayed at the other office and taken the test.

The dream ended there.  My migraine medicine wore off about the time the kids were getting up, so I never got to have the final meeting with the test maker, who was supposed to give me a pass or fail.

Instead I woke up and realized something.  My family is made up of a lot of school teachers and librarians.  I was a school teacher.  I could have been a librarian.  I find myself a writer instead, and it fits.

 

 

Once upon a time I had a dream of becoming an author.  I have achieved that in some ways.  I think it’s safe to say that I will be writing books for the rest of my life.  Do you know what the best part of being a writer is?  I know exactly who I am, and I am at peace with my role, no matter what it brings.

I hope you have a great day, and thanks for reading!

Live Bravely,
Love Strongly,
Dream Courageously
-AEM

 

 

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

